PISCATAWAY, NJ – The Rutgers softball team will make two stops in Florida and host eight doubleheaders at the RU Softball Complex during the 2005 season, head coach Pat Willis announced today." />
Welcome to ScarletKnights.com
    • iPad/iPhone App
    • Find us on Facebook
    • Twitter
    • RSS Feed
    • Get Text Alerts
Rutgers Announces 2005 Softball Schedule
  • Posted on September 14, 2004 12:00:00 AM
  • Increase Font SizeDecrease Font Size
  • RSS Feed
  • Subscribe
  • PISCATAWAY, NJ – The Rutgers softball team will make two stops in Florida and host eight doubleheaders at the RU Softball Complex during the 2005 season, head coach Pat Willis announced today.

    Rutgers will kick off the season in Boca Raton, FL, at the FAU Tournament on Feb. 18-20. The Scarlet Knights will travel back to Florida for the Speedline Invitational Tournament in Tampa, FL, on March 10-13.

    RU will then head down to the University of Virginia to participate in the Cavalier Classic on March 18-20 in Charlottesville, VA, before returning to Piscataway, NJ, to face Princeton on Thursday, March 24, at 2:00 p.m. and Hofstra on Wednesday, March 30, at 2:00 p.m. at the RU Softball Complex.

    BIG EAST play begins for Rutgers with a two-day home stand against Notre Dame on Saturday, April 2, at 12:00 p.m. and Pittsburgh on Sunday, April 3, at 12:00 p.m.

    The Scarlet Knights will take a break from their BIG EAST schedule for a non-conference match up against Army on Wednesday, April 6, at 3:30 p.m. This doubleheader is part of a four-opponent road trip for the Scarlet Knights that includes match-ups against Providence, Connecticut and Rider.

    RU will face BIG EAST conference opponents Providence on Saturday, April 9, at 12:00 p.m. and Connecticut on Sunday, April 10, at 12:00 p.m. The Scarlet Knights will then travel to Lawrenceville, NJ, to take on the Broncs of Rider University on Thursday, April 14, at 3:00 p.m. before returning home to face St. John’s on Saturday, April 16, at 12:00 p.m.

    Rutgers will battle in-state rivals Seton Hall on Sunday, April 17, at 12:00 p.m. and Monmouth on Wednesday, April 20, at 3:00 p.m. at the RU Softball Complex before traveling on a three-opponent road trip.

    The Scarlet Knights are slated to take on Boston College on Saturday, April 23, at 12:00 p.m. and Syracuse on Sunday, April 24, at 12:00 p.m. RU will end its road trip with a doubleheader at the University of Delaware on Tuesday, April 26, at 2:30 p.m.

    RU will play its final home games, a doubleheader against Fairleigh Dickinson on Thursday, April 28, at 3:00 p.m. before closing out the regular season at Villanova on Sunday, April 30, at 12:00 p.m.

    The BIG EAST Tournament will be held on May 12-15 at the Belleville Softball Complex in South Bend, IN.

    Rutgers, under the direction of 24th-year head coach Pat Willis, will return 10 letterwinners and six starters from a 2004 team that posted a 26-29-1 overall record and an 8-12 mark in BIG EAST play.

    Rutgers Softball 2005 Schedule

    FAU Tournament, Boca Raton, FL
    Fri. Feb. 18 Rutgers vs. TBA 10:00 a.m.
    Feb. 18 Rutgers vs. TBA 12:00 p.m.
    Sat. Feb. 19 Rutgers vs. TBA 10:00 a.m.
    Feb. 19 Rutgers vs. TBA 7:00 p.m.
    Sun. Feb. 20 TBA 9:00 a.m.

    Speedline Invitational Tournament, Tampa, FL
    Thurs. March 10 Rutgers vs. TBA TBA
    Fri. March 11 Rutgers vs. TBA TBA
    Sat. March 12 Rutgers vs. TBA 11:00 a.m.
    Sun. March 13 Rutgers vs. TBA 11:00 a.m.

    Cavalier Classic, Charlottesville, VA
    Fri. March 18 Rutgers vs. TBA 9:00 a.m.
    Sat. March 19 Rutgers vs. TBA 9:00 a.m.
    Sun. March 20 Rutgers vs. TBA 11:00 a.m.

    Thurs. March 24 PRINCETON 2:00 p.m.-DH
    Wed. March 30 HOFSTRA 2:00 p.m.-DH
    Sat. April 2 NOTRE DAME* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Sun. April 3 PITTSBURGH* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Wed. April 6 Army 3:30 p.m.-DH
    Sat. April 9 Providence* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Sun. April 10 Connecticut* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Thurs. April 14 Rider 3:00 p.m.-DH
    Sat. April 16 ST. JOHN’S* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Sun. April 17 SETON HALL* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Wed. April 20 MONMOUTH 3:00 p.m.-DH
    Sat. April 23 Boston College* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Sun. April 24 Syracuse* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    Tues. April 26 Delaware 2:30 p.m.-DH
    Thurs. April 28 FAIRLEIGH DICKINSON 3:00 p.m.-DH
    Sun. April 30 Villanova* 12:00 p.m.-DH
    May 12-15 BIG EAST TOURNAMENT (South Bend, IN)

    Home games in CAPS
    * BIG EAST match
    (DH) Indicates Doubleheader

    Next Game
    4:00 PM vs. ST. JOHN'S
        Gametracker
     
    RutgersShop.com
    Rutgers Auctions
    Bank of America
    AT&T Text Alerts
    Fan I Am
    New Jersey Audi Dealers
    Join the Jr. Knights Club
    Join the Jr. Knights Club Dance Team



    • Acme Nissan








    • Somerset Medical Center

    • Rutgers Center of Management Development
    • NJ National Guard


    • Rutgers Barbershop

    • University Pain Medicine Center

    BIG EAST Conference