Welcome to ScarletKnights.com
    • iPad/iPhone App
    • Find us on Facebook
    • Twitter
    • RSS Feed
    • Get Text Alerts
Khaseem Greene Named Maxwell Club's Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year
  • Posted on December 20, 2012 1:17:22 PM
  • Increase Font SizeDecrease Font Size
  • RSS Feed
  • Subscribe
  • Khaseem Greene

    The Maxwell Club, the oldest football club in America, announced today that Rutgers University linebacker Khaseem Greene was chosen as the Club’s 12th Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year. 

    Greene was one of three unanimous Big East first-team selections after leading the league with 125 tackles and ranking among the conference leaders in sacks (5.5), tackles-for-loss (10.5), passes defended (7), interceptions (2), fumbles forced (6) and fumbles recovered (2). He was named as the Big East Defensive Player of the Year for a second consecutive year. He was named to multiple All-American teams this season and won the Homer Hazel Trophy as Rutgers’ most valuable player. Twice during the 2012 season Greene was named as the Chuck Bednarik Award Player of the Week. 

    The Elizabeth, New Jersey native is fifth in school history with 376 career tackles. Greene finished with a career-high 22 tackles (6 solo, 16 assists) in the Army win. It was the fourth-highest total by a player in the nation in 2012. He has accepted an invitation to play in the 2013 Senior Bowl. The Senior Bowl will be played on January 26 at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Alabama. 

    Greene joins former Scarlet Knights Ray Rice (Baltimore Ravens), Kenny Britt (Tennessee Titans) and Mohamed Sanu (Cincinnati Bengals) as recipients of the Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year award. 

    Greene will be honored Friday, March 1, 2013 at the 76th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Harrah’s Atlantic City Resort. Also receiving awards at this event will be; Manti Te’o – Notre Dame (Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards), Bill O’Brien – Penn State (MFC National Collegiate Coach of the Year), Ozzie Newsome – Baltimore Ravens (Francis “Reds” Bagnell Award), and 31 senior football players from Penn State who will receive the Club’s Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award. The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winners of the Bert Bell Award (Professional Player of the Year) and Earl “Greasy” Neale Award (Professional Coach of the Year) on January 15, 2013. 

    Tickets for the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala are available for purchase on the Club’s website https://maxwellfootballclub.org/event-tickets/maxwell-football-club-national-awards-dinner or by calling 215-643-3833. 

    Questions concerning any of the Maxwell Football Club’s awards or programs can be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert at info@maxwellfootballclub.org


    Next Game
    11:00 AM Game Week Press Conference
    Live Video    
    Rutgers Ticket Office
    Rutgers Auctions
    AT&T Text Alerts
    Fan I Am
    New Jersey Audi Dealers
    Join the Jr. Knights Club
    Ask Tom Luicci

    • Millers Rental
    • Acme Nissan

    • Rutgers Center of Management Development
    • NJ National Guard
    • University Pain Medicine Center
    BIG EAST Conference