Welcome to ScarletKnights.com
    • iPad/iPhone App
    • Find us on Facebook
    • Twitter
    • RSS Feed
    • Get Text Alerts
Logan Ryan Named to 2012 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List
Award Given Annually to the Nation’s Top Defensive Back
  • Posted on July 13, 2012 10:04:52 AM
  • Increase Font SizeDecrease Font Size
  • RSS Feed
  • Subscribe
  • Logan Ryan

    PISCATAWAY, N.J. (July 13, 2012) – The Jim Thorpe Association announced Friday that Rutgers junior cornerback Logan Ryan (Berlin, N.J.) has been named to the 2012 preseason watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award. The award is given annually to the best defensive back in college football.  The list includes 35 of the top defensive backs in the country representing 11 conferences.

    Ryan, who was also named to the watch list for the Bednarik Award, finished with All-BIG EAST Second Team honors in 2011 as a first-year starter. The South Jersey native finished third on the team in tackles (67) and led RU in pass breakups (14) as part of the nation’sninth-best pass defense.

    He was a key member of a Rutgers defense that was 14th nationally in 2011 in total defense and eighth in scoring defense.

    The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City.  Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The 2012 Olympics mark the 100-year anniversary of Thorpe winning gold in the decathlon and pentathlon at the Stockholm Olympics. 

    The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-40 players each year.  The list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.  The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 6, 2012 on ESPN.

    The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.NCFAA.org.

    Next Game
    11:00 AM Game Week Press Conference
    Live Video    
    Rutgers Ticket Office
    Rutgers Auctions
    AT&T Text Alerts
    Fan I Am
    New Jersey Audi Dealers
    Join the Jr. Knights Club
    Ask Tom Luicci

    • Millers Rental
    • Acme Nissan

    • Rutgers Center of Management Development
    • NJ National Guard
    • University Pain Medicine Center
    BIG EAST Conference