PISCATAWAY, NJ – The Rutgers men’s basketball team will open its 2002-03 season at home on Nov. 18, hosting Columbia in the first round of the Pre-Season NIT. The Scarlet Knights, under the direction of second-year coach Gary Waters, will play a minimum of 26 regular season games this season, including 16 challenging BIG EAST Conference contests. " />
Welcome to ScarletKnights.com
    • iPad/iPhone App
    • Find us on Facebook
    • Twitter
    • RSS Feed
    • Get Text Alerts
Rutgers Announces 2002-03 Schedule
  • Posted on September 07, 2002 12:00:00 AM
  • Increase Font SizeDecrease Font Size
  • RSS Feed
  • Subscribe
  • PISCATAWAY, NJ – The Rutgers men’s basketball team will open its 2002-03 season at home on Nov. 18, hosting Columbia in the first round of the Pre-Season NIT. The Scarlet Knights, under the direction of second-year coach Gary Waters, will play a minimum of 26 regular season games this season, including 16 challenging BIG EAST Conference contests.

    Rutgers begins the upcoming campaign with its second appearance in the Pre-Season NIT, which culminates with the semifinal and championship rounds at Madison Square Garden on Nov. 27-29.

    The Scarlet Knights begin their 16-game BIG EAST schedule on Jan. 12 at home against Pittsburgh. In addition to playing a home-and-home schedule against its six fellow BIG EAST West Division members, Rutgers will also play East Division members Boston College, Connecticut, St. John’s, and Villanova.

    The non-conference schedule is highlighted by road games at Temple on Nov. 24, at Auburn on Dec. 8, and at cross-state rival Princeton on Dec. 14, as well as a home game with Virginia on Dec. 21.

    The 2002-03 Scarlet Knights will feature a veteran squad that returns 10 letterwinners, including leading scorer Jerome Coleman (16.8 ppg.), from last year’s team that went 18-13 and advanced to the post-season NIT. Waters was named “Coach of the Year” by the Metropolitan College Basketball Writers Association following the 2001-02 campaign.

    Game times and television appearances will be announced at a later date.

    RUTGERS 2002-2003 MEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

    DATE OPPONENT
    Thurs. Nov. 14 One World All Stars (Exhibition)
    Mon. Nov. 18 Pre-Season NIT vs. COLUMBIA .
    Wed. Nov. 20 Pre-Season NIT Quarterfinals
    Sun. Nov. 24 @ Temple
    Wed. Nov. 27 Pre-Season NIT Semi-finals @ MSG
    Fri. Nov. 29 Pre-Season NIT Championship @ MSG
    Mon. Dec. 2 MARSHALL
    Sun. Dec. 8 @ Auburn
    Wed. Dec. 11 FORDHAM
    Sat. Dec. 14 @ Princeton
    Sat. Dec. 21 VIRGINIA
    Mon. Dec. 23 MORRIS BROWN
    Sat. Dec. 28 DELAWARE ST
    Sat. Jan. 4 LASALLE
    Sun. Jan. 12 PITTSBURGH *
    Tue. Jan. 14 @ Notre Dame*
    Sat. Jan. 18 VILLANOVA*
    Mon. Jan. 20 @ Georgetown*
    Sun. Jan. 26 @ West Virginia*
    Wed. Jan. 29 SYRACUSE*
    Sun. Feb. 2 @ Seton Hall*
    Sat. Feb. 8 BOSTON COLLEGE*
    Tue. Feb. 11 GEORGETOWN*
    Sat. Feb. 15 WEST VIRGINIA*
    Wed. Feb. 19 @ Connecticut*
    Sat. Feb. 22 @ Pittsburgh*
    Tue. Feb. 25 SETON HALL*
    Sat. Mar. 1 NOTRE DAME*
    Thur. Mar. 6 @ St. John's*
    Sun. Mar. 9 @ Syracuse*
    Wed.-Sat. Mar. 12-15 BIG EAST Tournament @ MSG

    HOME GAMES in CAPS
    Schedule subject to change
    * Denotes BIG EAST Conference Game

    Next Game
    There are no online events today.
     
    Rutgers Ticket Office
    RutgersShop.com
    Rutgers Auctions
    AT&T Text Alerts
    Fan I Am
    New Jersey Audi Dealers
    Join the Jr. Knights Club
    Ask Tom Luicci



    • Millers Rental
    • Acme Nissan








    • Rutgers Center of Management Development
    • NJ National Guard
    • University Pain Medicine Center
    BIG EAST Conference